Our vision is to be a diverse faith family seeking to love, grow, and serve.
Our mission is to make new disciples for Jesus Christ for the transformation of the world.
A Brief History of the Church
Three church names, two locations and six buildings outline the evolution what is now called Webster United Methodist.
- Tuxedo Park Methodist Episcopal Church, starting with 11 charter members, January 3, 1895 to 1916.
- Hagerty Memorial Methodist Episcopal Church, named after Dr. Thomas Hagerty, a pastor and benefactor, 1916-1930.
- First United Methodist Church, to indicate this was the first Methodist church to be established in Webster Groves, 1930 to 2017.
- our new name and logo, Webster United Methodist, were introduced in mid 2016. Our new Webster United Methodist Church logo has been carefully designed to appear modern yet timeless in appearance.
- The four intertwined semi-circles form an infinity symbol representing God’s infinite love for all of us.
- The open sections of the circles suggest God’s open arms welcoming us into his Kingdom, just as we are to open our arms to our neighbors in brotherly love.
- The semi-circles are also multi-colored to symbolize the all-inclusiveness of God’s love, which we should mirror here on earth by “Welcoming into the full life of the church people of every race, ethnicity, social or economic status, age, faith history, physical or mental ability, family configuration, sexual orientation, and gender identity”.
- Taken in its entirety, the four intertwined semi-circles also call to mind our beautiful rose window that brings the light of God into our church for all to see.
- First meetings were in members’ homes.
- 667 Atalanta, 1895-1909 (small building still standing and used as a residence.)
- The present location at Bompart and Fairview.
A more detailed history of the church is available from the church office.